2018 Annual Conference


OCTOBER 11-13, 2018


2018 Conference Save the Date



Past Conferences


2017 Annual Conference

September 28th – 30th, 2017

Hosted by the Schaumburg Chapter

IAHE 2017 Conference Comittee

2017 Schaumburg Chapter Conference Committee

The Schaumburg Chapter Conference Committee would like to thank everyone for attending & supporting our 2017 conference, we received a number of compliments about the presentations and wanted to make them available for review since not everyone could attend every session.





Technical Sessions Presentation Slides

Click on the links below to open and download PDF slides

Opening Presentation

IDOT & Tollway: Connecting Northern Illinois over the years – Clarita Lao, Illinois Tollway

Central Tri-State Tollway (I-294) Video:

Morning Sessions

The “Other” kind of Smart: The Value of Social & Emotional Intelligence – Elizabeth Wright, IDOT

Advanced Composites for Structural Rehabilitation for Transportation Structures – Kevin Hooley, Fyfe Company

Bridge Health Index and Asset Management of Bridge Inventory – Marco Loureiro, Jacobs

History of the CTA – Jim Harper, CTA

A History of the Construction of the Radial Expressway System in Cook County – Andy Plummer, Consultant & Historian

Stormwater Pump Stations 101: Keeping the Pavement Dry – Mike Stohl, Donohue & Associates

Harnessing Technology for Future Mobility in the Chicago Region – Elizabeth Irvin, CMAP

Lunch Keynote

Current Transportation Plan – Anthony Quigley, IDOT

Afternoon Sessions

The Chicago Freight Tunnels – Steve Freese, TranSystems

Tactical (Sub)Urbanism in Suburban Cook County – Heather Schady, Active Transportation Alliance

I-55 Manged Lanes – Corey Smith & Steve Schilke, IDOT

The Risks, Rewards and Revelations of Starting Your Own Engineering Firm – John A. Clark, Peralte-Clark

Illinois’ Crash-Tested Soundwall, ACRYLITE Soundstop TL4 system – Michael Pruden, Armtec

Roads that Smile: Considering Context and Stakeholders – Rick Wanner, 2IM Group



IDOT Employees Approved for Reimbursement and Time for Travel & Attending Conference


IDOT C-13 Form: C-13 Form PDF

Secretary Approval Letters: IDOT Secretary Letters PDF


2017 Conference Pictures


DSC_0004DSC_00172017 Conference - Thursday Night - Cantigny ParkDSC_0023DSC_0024DSC_0020DSC_0040DSC_0042DSC_0046DSC_0048DSC_0065DSC_0057DSC_0044Panel DiscussionMember of the yearDSC_0075DSC_0080Lunch - Tony QuigleyDSC_0083DSC_0063DSC_0050Corey Presentationspouse tourDSC_0112IMG_2250IMG_2265DSC_0115DSC_0125DSC_0167DSC_0127DSC_0128DSC_0135DSC_0141DSC_0149DSC_0150DSC_0157IMG_4370IMG_4368photo booth 3photo booth 1photo booth 2

80th Annual IAHE Conference – 2016

Sept. 22-24, 2016. Hosted by the Springfield Chapter

79th Annual IAHE Conference – 2015

2015 Photo Gallery

DSC00778 (Copy)
« 1 of 136 »

2015 Annual Conference






2013 Annual Conference


2012 Annual Conference

Thursday’s Decorating and BBQ

Friday’s Technical Session

Friday Night’s Dance

Saturday Breakfast


2011 Annual Conference

2011 Conference wrap up letter


2010 Annual Conference

 2010 – 74th Annual Conference hosted by Schaumburg

Dance Floor Dance Floor 2 Band 1
Hippie Crowd 1 Hippie Crowd 2 Cute Hippies

 2009 Annual Conference

2009 – 73rd Annual Conference hosted by Springfield

Friends in Low Places

Magical Mystery Tour


2008 Annual Conference

 2008 – 72nd Annual Conference hosted by Peoria

A special thanks to Diane Shynk, Jennifer Lubbs, Tony Bridson and Paris McConnell.